How Can You Remove Yourself From Facebook Once You Have Signed Up?

By Adrian Grahams

The initial novelty of communicating with friends and family on Facebook can sometimes wear off. If you opened a Facebook account but have now become tired of the social networking site then you might want to cancel the account. To remove yourself from Facebook you'll need to log in to the site and deactivate your account from the "Account Settings" menu. This removes your profile from Facebook so that friends, family and contacts can no longer view it.

Step 1

Launch your Web browser and sign in to your Facebook account.

Step 2

Click the "Account" link in the top navigation menu on your Facebook homepage.

Step 3

Click "Account Settings" from the context menu.

Step 4

Locate the "Deactivate Account" section in the "Account Settings" page.

Step 5

Click the "Deactivate" link. This opens the account deactivation confirmation page.

Step 6

Select the reason that you wish to deactivate the account by clicking the check-box beside the relevant option. You can also click the relevant check-box to close all Facebook groups that you've created and delete Facebook applications that you've developed.

Step 7

Click the "Confirm" button at the bottom of the page. This deactivates your Facebook account, including all data, pictures and profile information.

Tips & Warnings

  • Although deactivating your account removes your profile and data from the site, Facebook stores a hidden copy of your profile in case you want to reactivate the account.
  • In Step 6, you must provide a reason for leaving Facebook. You can select this from the list of options or type another reason into the text input box.