How to Block Content on My iPhone Safari

By Carrie Burns

Apple's iPhone does not offer native site-specific web filtering or restrictions, as of December 2010. It does offer a restriction setting where access to Safari can be turned off completely. Restricting Safari even removes the browser's icon from the home screen. There are paid applications in development for specific site filtering, but for safety in the meantime turn off Safari altogether. Disabling Safari does only that--all other applications that access the web will still function unless you also disable those, meaning you can still access email, calendars, YouTube, stocks and any other Internet-based applications.

Step 1

Press the "Settings" icon on the home screen. This icon is gray and has gears on it.

Step 2

Select "General" from the Settings menu. The icon for "General" is the same as the one for Settings and will be the sixth row down.

Step 3

Find "Restrictions" at the bottom of the General menu and tap it to select. Restrictions are turned off by default.

Step 4

Tap the "Enable Restrictions" button at the top of the screen.

Step 5

Set a passcode. The first time you work with restrictions it will ask you to set a four-digit passcode. Make sure to choose one you can remember or have a partner choose one for you if the restrictions are for yourself.

Step 6

Re-enter your passcode. The iPhone will require you to enter the same passcode a second time to verify that it is set correctly.

Step 7

Slide the button sharing a row with the Safari icon to the left to set it to "OFF." All of the restrictable applications will be set to "Allow: ON" after setting the passcode. If you wish to disallow any of these applications, move the slider to the left to set it to "OFF."

Step 8

Tap "General" at the top left of the screen to return to the General menu, or press the round "Home" button at the bottom of your phone to return to the default home screen. The Safari application and logo should no longer appear on your phone's applications screen.

Tips & Warnings

  • Restrictions are reset to defaults when the iPhone is restored.