How to Block Facebook Content From Specific Friends

By Andrew Tennyson

Learn how to use Facebook's audience selector tools to block specific friends from viewing your content.

Maintaining control over your content on Facebook helps to ensure only the desired audience sees your posts, photos, likes and shares. How you go about blocking specific friends from viewing content on Facebook varies, depending on whether you're blocking a new post or existing content. It also varies slightly depending on whether you're using the Facebook app for mobile devices or the Facebook website.

Block Friends from Viewing New Posts Using the Facebook App

Step 1

Enter your post and then tap the To field near the top of the screen.

Facebook (Android 5.0)

Step 2

Tap the More button to load additional audience selection options.

Facebook (Android 5.0)

Step 3

Touch the Friends Except button to share your content with all of your friends except a custom list of people who will be blocked.

Facebook (Android 5.0)

Step 4

Touch the Except field and enter the names of friends you want to block from viewing your content. Tap the Post button to share your post with the selected audience when you're finished.

Facebook (Android 5.0)

Block Friends from Viewing New Posts Using the Facebook Website

Step 1

Enter your post, click the drop-down menu located next to the Post button and select Custom.

Facebook (Chrome)

Step 2

Enter "Friends" in the Share This With field and then enter the names of friends you want to block in the Don't Share This With field. Click the Save Changes button when you're finished and then click Post to share your post with the selected audience.

Facebook (Chrome)

Block Existing Content

Facebook App for Mobile Devices

Using the Facebook app, locate the post you want to edit, tap the down-facing arrow in the top-right corner of the post and select Edit Post.

Facebook (Android 5.0)

Facebook (Android 5.0)

Once the post is editable, block people using the same interface you use when posting new content. Tap the To field, touch the More button, select Friends Except and then enter the names of people you want to block in the Except field.

Facebook Website

The Facebook website has a dedicated audience selector button for each post you make. Locate the post you want to edit, click its audience selector button and choose Custom to adjust which friends can see the post.

Facebook (Chrome)

Facebook (Chrome)

Use the Don't Share This With field to enter the names of friends you want to block from viewing the content.

Facebook (Chrome)

You can edit who sees existing content at any time by changing the audience on your Timeline. As with new content, how you go about blocking friends from viewing existing content varies slightly depending on whether you're using the Facebook app or the Facebook website.