How to Block Friends on Facebook Without Deleting Them

With the increasing amount of massive multi-player games on Facebook that require you to add new Facebook friends to progress and the addition of people to your friends list that you may not necessarily know that well, you may occasionally desire to block certain friends from full access to your wall. Facebook allows you to limit what you see from these friends as well as what these friends see from you without the need to “un-friend” them.

What Others See

Step

Open your Facebook profile page and click on the “Account” tab in the upper right corner.

Step

Click on the “Privacy Settings” link from the drop-down menu.

Step

Click on the “Customize Settings” link at the bottom left side of the “Sharing on Facebook” frame. This will bring up a page with three sections; “Things I share,” “Things others share” and “Contact information.”

Step

Click on the tab to the right of the “Posts by me” category in the “Things I share” section. Click on “customize” in the drop-down menu. This will bring up a custom privacy window.

Step

Click on the text bar under the “Hide this from” section of the custom privacy window and enter the name of the friends you wish to hide from reading your posts. Click “Save setting” when you are done.

What You See

Step

Locate one of the posts on your wall from the friend you wish to block.

Step

Click on the “X” that appears on the upper right corner of the post. This will bring a drop-down menu.

Step

Click on “Hide all by [insert name here].”

Blocking an Individual Post

Step

Type your wall post in the text box. Don’t click “Share”.

Step

Click on the small padlock-shaped icon next to the “Share” button. This will reveal a drop-down menu.

Step

Select “Customize” from the drop-down menu and enter the name of the friend you wish to block in the “Hide this from” text box.

Step

Click “Save Setting” and then click the “Share” button to post the message to your wall.