How to Buy Rennet
With rennet, you can easily make tons of food items at home that you've only ever purchased at the store, including cheese, ice cream, custards and more - but it's not the easiest item to find. Here's where and how to buy rennet.
Things You'll Need
- A little cash
- Research time
- Internet access (optional)
First off, it helps to know how to describe rennet and what it does. Vegetable-base rennet is a coagulant used mainly in making cheese - it's what forms the curd. It is often sold in liquid form in a small bottle about the size of the kind that hold eye drops. You can also frequently buy rennet in tablet form.
Start your search! If you're lucky enough to live in an area with a Whole Foods, that store is a good first stop. Since liquid rennet has to be refrigerated, it's often found in or near the milk and cheese section. I found my first bottle of rennet by asking one of the sales clerks. He had to ask around a little, but he found it eventually!
Try your local co-op or natural foods store. The staff working there are typically quite knowledgeable, and co-ops tend to stock items that are less easily found in corporate stores. If you still can't find what you're looking for, post a suggestion in the suggestion box, or try talking to a store manager.
In an area with no co-ops or Whole Foods? Visit the New England Cheesemaking Supply Company at www.cheesemaking.com for all your rennet buying needs! They carry rennet in both liquid and tablet form, as well as non-vegetarian base rennet. This company is a super-fast shipper, and you'll be ready to get to work in just a couple of days.