How to Clear a Used iPad

Because the iPad is linked to your iTunes account, personal information and purchased digital content is potentially accessible to other users -- authorized and unauthorized. Before selling or giving an iPad to another user, or when you acquire a used iPad from a previous owner, it's prudent to erase all its content and settings, returning it to its factory default. This can also be a useful procedure to test the iPad when troubleshooting.

...
The iPad can be restored if its synced with iTunes before being reset.

Step

Launch the Settings application on the iPad by tapping its icon on the home screen.

Step

Open the "General" page, followed by "Reset."

Step

Press the "Erase All Content and Settings" button, followed by the red "Erase iPad" button to confirm. The iPad will reboot and display the Apple logo while its memory is cleared and its operating system is returned to its factory default status.