How to Clear the Search Browsing History in Facebook

When you are browsing for other Facebook users and you enter a Facebook username into the Facebook search bar, Facebook saves the terms you searched for in case you want to search for them again at a later date. If you want to clear this search history, you must do so in the browser you are using, as there is no way to do it within Facebook itself. Regardless of the browser you are using, however, you can clear this history in a few simple steps.

...
Any Facebook user you have searched for in the past will show up at the top of the Facebook search results.

Internet Explorer

Step

Double-click the Internet Explorer icon to launch the Web browser.

Step

Click the "Tools" icon that is shaped like a gear in the browser's toolbar. Move your mouse cursor over the "Safety" option and select the "Delete Browsing History" from the Safety menu.

Step

Place a check mark next to the "Temporary Internet Files," "Cookies" and "History" options, and click the "Delete" button. Any search information you entered into the Facebook search bar will now be deleted.

Firefox

Step

Double-click the Firefox application icon to launch the application.

Step

Click the "Tools" tab in the Firefox menubar and select the "Clear Recent History..." option from the Tools menu.

Step

Click the arrow to the right of the "Time range to clear:" heading and select "Everything" from the drop-down menu.

Step

Click the arrow to the left of the "Details" heading and place a check mark next to the "Browsing & Download History," "Form & Search History," "Cookies" and "Cache" options.

Step

Click the "Clear Now" button to delete the Web browser's history. Any information you entered into the Facebook search bar will now be deleted.

Safari

Step

Double-click the Safari application icon to launch the application.

Step

Click the "History" tab in the Safari menubar and select the "Clear History ... " option from the History menu.

Step

Click the "Clear" button in the popup window that appears to clear all of the history information tied to the Web browser. Any information you entered into the Facebook search bar will now be deleted.