How to Delete a Posting On Craigslist
Craigslist provides buyers and sellers from all over the world with an online forum in which goods and services are bought and sold every day. It is simple to add a posting to any category and just as easy to delete a posting. Here's how to delete a posting on Craigslist.
Things You'll Need
- Computer with Internet access
Delete a Posting
Visit the Craigslist home page (view the link in Resources below).
Log in to your user account by clicking "My Account" on the Craigslist home page.
Find the posting that you wish to permanently delete.
Click the title of the posting that you want to delete.
Select "Delete this Posting." The posting will disappear from your list of active postings.
Check to Make Sure Your Posting Is Deleted
Sign out of your account by clicking "Log Out."
Log in to Craigslist again.
Verify that your posting has been deleted by clicking the "Removed by Me" link. You will see a list of ads that you have deleted.
Tips & Warnings
- To make using Craigslist even easier, you should enable cookies in your Web browser, such as Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox or Safari. Cookies allow you to log in without having to enter your user name and password each time you visit the site.
- Craigslist forums can be very helpful in getting answers to common questions and issues related to buying and selling (view the link in Resources below).
- Be sure to delete postings after you have sold your item so you don't continue to receive emails or phone calls regarding an item that has already been sold or is no longer available.
- Always log out of your account if you are using a shared computer. Otherwise, anyone who uses the computer after you can change your postings, gather personal information or alter your account in some way.
- Disable cookies on public or shared computers because will they allow anyone to access your account without having to log in.
- If your ad is deemed inappropriate or offensive by Craigslist staff, you will see removed postings under the "Staff Deleted" link in your account window after you log in.