How to Delete a Windows Live Account & Register It Again

Windows Live is the collective brand name for a set of services and software products from Microsoft. A Windows Live account is essentially the same as a Hotmail and MSN account. In order to access email, instant messaging or any other Windows Live services, you must first create an account. If for any reason you would want to delete an account, you can register it again using the same user information.

High angle view of a man's hand operating a computer mouse
credit: Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images

Closing a Windows Live Account

Step

Go to the Windows Live website (see References). Enter your Windows Live ID and password then click "Sign In."

Step

Click your first name and Windows Live avatar on the top-right corner of the screen. Select "View your account."

Step

Verify your identity to close your account. Enter your password and click "Yes."

Step

Click "Close your Microsoft account" and select "Close account." This will close your Microsoft Hotmail account and is required in order to close your Windows Live account.

Creating a Windows Live Account

Step

Go to the Windows Live website. Click the "Sign Up" button.

Step

Enter your previous Windows Live ID in the space provided. Click "Check Availability" to see if your name is free.

Step

Complete the form with your user information and click "I Accept."