How to Delete Results by Bing

By Kathryn Hatashita-Lee

When the Bing search engine brings up unwanted results, such as an obsolete Web page that was removed, try accessing Bing’s Content Removal page listed in Resources. This fillable form enables you to submit a removal request for a page or an outdated cache that displays in the first column of the search results. Submitting the URL address and the outdated text for the cached content will help Bing streamline your list of Internet sources.

Step 1

Press "Ctrl-C" to copy the unwanted URL link in the Bing search results.

Step 2

Navigate to Bing's Content Removal page, and sign in to your Microsoft Account to display the Content Removal form (see the link in Resources.)

Step 3

Press "Ctrl-V" to paste the URL link in the Content URL field.

Step 4

Click the "Removal Type" box to open the drop-down list, and select "Remove Page" or "Remove Outdated Cache." If you select "Remove Outdated Cache," the Cached Page Text field displays. Copy the text from the cached page, and paste it into the "Cached Page Text" box.

Step 5

Click "Submit." The Submission History section will compile a data table with your approved requests.

Tips & Warnings

  • To clear your search history, click the "Bing" icon in the upper left of the search results page to bring up the Bing page. Click "Search History" to open the History page with a grid view of the results. Click "Clear All," and then select "Yes, Clear All Search History" to confirm. Your History page will state "You’ve cleared all your search history."
  • To adjust your Bing settings, click the "Bing" icon in the upper left corner of the search results page to open the Bing page, and then click "Search History" to open your History page. Click "Settings" in the sidebar to open the Settings pane with four tabs: "General," "Web," "News" and "Worldwide." For example, click the "General" tab, select the level of filtering for the SafeSearch section and enter your city and state in the Location section. Remember to click “Save” or “Use Default Settings.”