How to Disable and Send Email on Your Behalf in Outlook

By Chris Loza

Enable or disable the "Send Email on Your Behalf" feature in Microsoft Outlook from the "Delegate Access" option. The "Delegate Access" option allows you to grant certain privileges to other users, such as access to your calendar, sending emails on your behalf or access to certain folders in your mailbox. This feature is useful for people who need other people to send emails on their behalf, but not necessarily have full access to the user's in-box. When someone has an access to send email on someone's behalf, they can read replies to that email, but not other messages.

Delegate Access

Step 1

Open Microsoft Outlook.

Step 2

Go to the "Tools" menu and click "Options" for Outlook 2003 and 2007. For Outlook 2010, click the "File" menu and click "Account Settings."

Step 3

Click the "Delegates" tab for Outlook 2003 and 2007. Click "Delegate Access" for Outlook 2010.

Step 4

Click "Add."

Step 5

Type the name of the person you want to be able to send on your behalf or click on the search list to search for the name.

Step 6

Click "Add" then click "OK."

Step 7

Accept the default settings in the "Default Permissions" box and check the "Automatically Send a Message to Delegate Summarizing These Permissions" check box to inform the user of the permission change. An email that summarizes the user's privilege is sent. For someone to send email on your behalf, when they compose a new email in Outlook, the "From" field can be changed to your name or email address. Recipients of this email will see both the delegate's and your email addresses in the "From" field.

Remove Delegate Access

Step 1

Open Microsoft Outlook.

Step 2

Go to the "Tools" menu and click "Options" for Outlook 2003 and 2007. For Outlook 2010, click the "File" menu and click "Account Settings."

Step 3

Click the "Delegates" tab for Outlook 2003 and 2007. Click "Delegate Access" for Outlook 2010.

Step 4

Select the name of the person who has the delegate access and click the "Remove" button to disable all access.

Step 5

Click "Apply" and then "OK" to close.