How to Erase a Saved Password From an Email Account Sign-In

By Kayla Lowe

Many Internet browsers offer a saved password option that allows you to save your passwords to your email accounts, social networking profiles and other online accounts so that you don’t have to retype them every time you want to log in to your account. This might be favorable on a personal computer, but on a shared one, it might not be. You probably don’t want everyone being able to log in to your email account. No need to worry, though, because you can erase a saved password from an email account sign-in page.

Step 1

Load your Internet browser, and click on “Tools” located in the navigation bar at the top of the Internet browser window.

Step 2

Scroll down to “Internet Options” (or “Clear Recent History” for Mozilla), and click.

Step 3

Click on “Delete” located next to “Browsing History,” at which time a new window containing different types of history you can delete should pop up.

Step 4

Delete the “Passwords” history to erase a saved password from an email account sign-in.

Step 5

Navigate to your email account, and begin entering your username and password. No saved password should now appear.

Tips & Warnings

  • In the future, be sure to click “No” on the message asking if you want to save a password, and click “Do not show this message again” to prevent the message from appearing again.
  • Beware of deleting stored passwords that you might want. When you delete the “Passwords” history, all saved passwords are erased from all websites.