How to Hide Your Facebook Account
The Facebook social networking site allows users to keep in contact with family, friends and long-lost acquaintances. Users who sign up for Facebook create a personal profile for others to search and find. This may not be desired if a user is seeking employment and doesn't want potential employers to find their account. Users have the option to hide their account by deactivating it. When an account is deactivated, it is hidden from all other users on Facebook. Users can still log in to their account to view their profile page and settings; however, their page will not be visible for anyone else to see. Users can then reactivate their account at any time to make it become visible.
Login to your Facebook account. Launch any Web browser, and navigate to Facebook.com. Type your email and password in the top-right of page and click "Login."
Click "Account" from the top-right of the page, and then click "Account Settings." The "My Account" page launches.
Scroll down the page, and click the "Deactivate" link next to "Deactivate Account." A page launches with the heading "Are You Sure You Want to Deactivate Your Account?"
Provide a reason for deactivating your account under "Reason for leaving." Check the box next to "Opt out of Receiving Emails From Facebook" if you no longer wish to receive emails from Facebook after deactivating your account.
Click the "Confirm" button. Your account is now hidden on Facebook.