How to Keep People From Taking Your Pictures Off of Facebook

By Carolyn Luck

Posting photos on Facebook is one way for friends to stay connected and share life's memorable moments. Whether it's a wedding, a holiday dinner or a girls' night out, you can share your memories using the Facebook photo upload feature. If you're concerned about privacy, prevent other users from taking your pictures off of Facebook by adjusting your privacy settings. Restrict the visibility of your photos to a certain group of users, or prevent individual users from gaining access to your photos in a few quick steps.

Step 1

Sign in to your Facebook account using your email address or mobile phone and password. Click the "Account" tab in the upper right corner and select the "Privacy Settings" option to access your account privacy page.

Step 2

Uncheck the box located next to the "Let Friends of People Tagged in My Photos and Posts See Them" to prevent Facebook users who fall into that category from accessing your photos.

Step 3

Click the "Customize Settings" link located at the bottom of the "Sharing on Facebook" section. Open the drop-down menu located next to the "Posts By Me" option that falls under the "Things I Share" section. Click the "Custom" option and choose the "Only Me" or "Certain People" option that appears in the resulting box. This setting ensures that your photos are visible to only yourself or the Facebook users you specify by name. To keep certain people from viewing your photos, type their names in the "Hide This From" field.

Step 4

Open the drop-down menu located next to the "Photos and Videos You're Tagged In" option that falls under the "Things Others Share" section. Click the "Custom" option and choose the "Only Me" or "Certain People" option that appears in the resulting box. This ensures that your photos are visible to only yourself or the Facebook users you specify by name. To keep certain people from viewing your photos, type their names in the "Hide This From" field.

Step 5

Click the "Edit Privacy Settings For Existing Albums and Photos" link that appears in the middle of the Privacy Settings page. Select your privacy settings for each album that appears on the resulting page. Click the "Custom" option and choose the "Only Me" or "Certain People" option that appears in the resulting box. This sets your photos to be visible to only yourself or the Facebook users you specify by name. To keep certain people from viewing your photos, type their names in the "Hide This From" field.

Tips & Warnings

  • Decreasing the number of people who can view and access your photos decreases the likelihood that your photos will be taken off of Facebook.

References & Resources