How to Know If Your Facebook Page Was Hacked

By Kay Ireland

Currently, Facebook is the second most popular website on the Internet. As such, it is a prime target for hackers. The Facebook accounts of unsuspecting victims are routinely hacked, usually to be used for phishing scams and advertisements. If you think that your Facebook account is impervious to hacking, think again. Clicking on certain links or having a weak password could mean you see some of the trademark signs of a hacked Facebook account.

Step 1

Log into your Facebook account and choose "Account" from the upper right-hand corner. Select "Account Settings" from the drop-down menu and locate "Account Security." Expand the section and choose to receive notifications. This increases the security level for your Facebook account by setting your account so that when it is accessed from a computer or device it has never been accessed from before, Facebook notifies you immediately by email.

Step 2

Test your password frequently. If your account has been hacked, the hacker usually changes the account to delay your access. If the password you use suddenly stops working, use the Facebook "forgot your password" link on the login page to reset your password. When you set your password, ensure that you use both letters and numbers to make it harder to guess.

Step 3

Look through your past Facebook activity, which is documented on your wall. If you see unfamiliar pictures, websites and videos posted, your Facebook account may be being used for phishing schemes to lure your friends and family members into clicking links because it appears that you've recommended them.

Step 4

Ask your friends and family members to watch your profile for suspicious activity. They can notify you if a hacker has been posting items and links from your profile.

Step 5

Watch your email for the security message that Facebook sends when suspicious activity is detected. If suspicious links and spam appear in your profile, Facebook sends a security message to the email address affiliated with your account. Your account is temporarily suspended until you can go through the process of resetting your password to reinstate access.