How to Permanently Delete Your History

Every website you visit is tracked in your browser’s history. In some cases--such as if you are sharing a computer with other user--you can clear this history so that the list of visited websites is not visible. You can delete your Internet history manually or change settings so that your browsing history is automatically deleted. Deletions are permanent.

Internet Explorer

Step

Open your Internet Explorer browser. Pull down the “Tools” menu from the navigation menu running across the top of your browser page. Select “Internet Options.” A gray box will pop up.

Step

Look for the “Browsing history” heading located on the “General” tab and click on the “Settings” button.

Step

Select the number of days you want to display your history then click on “OK.” You can also check “Delete browsing history on exit” from the “General” tab then click on the “Delete” button. This automatically sets your computer to delete your Internet browsing history when you log off. Click on the “Apply” button on the Internet Options window to save your settings, then click “OK” to exit and close out the window.

Mozilla Firefox

Step

Open your Mozilla Firefox browser. Pull down the “Tools” menu from the navigation menu. Click on the “Clear Recent History” option. A new window will pop up.

Step

Select the type of history files you want to delete, then select the “Everything” option located next to the “Time range to clear” field.

Step

Expand the “Details” window and click on the “Clear Now” button. After history has been deleted, the “Clear Recent History” window will automatically close out.

Safari

Step

Open your Safari browser. Pull down the Safari menu and click on the “Preferences” option.

Step

Click on the “AutoFill” button to deselect it. Save your settings.

Step

Exit your Safari browser. While Safari does not offer a manual method for deleting your browsing history, you can configure settings so that no Internet history is saved.