How to Remove Drop Down History

By Chris Hoke

Drop-down history (also called "autofill" or "autocomplete") is a feature in many Web browsers that is designed to help you finish typing a search term or website address faster. Words and phrases that you may have used in the past, or that the browser thinks you might be trying to type, are stored in the browser and suggested while you type. Unfortunately, this means that anyone who uses your computer can see the URLs or search terms that you have recently typed. It is recommended that you clear the drop-down history occasionally if you share your computer with others.

Microsoft Internet Explorer

Step 1

Click the "Tools" menu at the top of the program window and select "Internet Options."

Step 2

Click the "Content" tab at the top of the Internet Properties window. Click on the "Autocomplete" button.

Step 3

Click the "Clear Forms" button.

Mozilla Firefox

Step 1

Click the "Tools" menu at the top of the screen and click "Options."

Step 2

Click the "Privacy" icon in the left pane of the Options window.

Step 3

Click the "Clear" button next to "Saved Form Information."

Google Chrome

Step 1

Click the "Tools" icon, which is shaped like a wrench, then click "Options."

Step 2

Click the "Under the Hood" tab at the top of the Google Chrome Options window. Click the "Clear Browsing Data" button.

Step 3

Uncheck all of the boxes except for the one next to "Clear saved form data," then select "Everything" from the drop-down menu.

Step 4

Click the "Clear browsing data" button, then click "Close."

Safari

Step 1

Click the "Edit" menu at the top of the program window and select "Preferences."

Step 2

Click the "Autofill" tab. Click the "Edit" button next to "Other Forms."

Step 3

Click the "Remove All" button.

Opera

Step 1

Click "Menu," then hover the mouse pointer over "Settings" to open a submenu. Click on "Delete Private Data."

Step 2

Click "Detailed Options." Clear all boxes except "Delete entire cache," "Clear history of visited pages," and "Delete persistent storage."

Step 3

Click the "Delete" button.