How to Stop Just Added Friend Notifications on Facebook

When you change your Facebook profile information, add a picture, change your status or become friends with another Facebook user, Facebook posts the change to your wall. By default, all information posted on your wall appears on your friends' news feeds. Although these posts are generally harmless, certain notifications, such as a friend that you just added, can invade your privacy. If you want to prevent these posts from appearing on your Wall and your friends' news feed page, change your privacy settings to prevent all of your posts from appearing or delete the just added notifications as they appear.

Change Privacy Settings

Step

Log in to your Facebook account and click "Account" from the upper-right corner of your homepage.

Step

Click "Privacy Settings" from the drop-down list.

Step

Click "Customize Settings" at the bottom of the page.

Step

Click the drop-down list next to "Posts by Me" in the "Things I Share" group.

Step

Click "Customize" from the list of options. A dialog box appears on your screen.

Step

Click the drop-down list in the "Make This Visible To" section and click "Only Me." Posts, such as status updates, photos and just added friend notifications won't appear on your friends' news feed pages.

Delete as They Appear

Step

Click the "Profile" link from the upper right corner of your homepage.

Step

Click "Wall" from the left column to display your Facebook Wall.

Step

Hover your mouse over the just added friend notification.

Step

Click the "X" that appears in the right corner of the post.

Step

Click "Remove" post to delete the post from your wall. The post also deletes from your friends' news feed page.