How to Disconnect Users From Excel Spreadsheets

By Aaron Parson

Learn how to remove one or all shared users from an Excel workbook to stop them from editing the file.

Shared Excel 2013 workbooks support edits from multiple users at the same time over a network, but lack many features of regular workbooks, such as inserting pictures or adding new sheets. Whether you want to disconnect all other users, turning a shared workbook back to a regular workbook, or remove a single user from the file, use the Share Workbook window.

Step 1

Open the Review tab and click Share Workbook in the Changes section.

Step 2

Remove a user.

Select someone from the list of active users and click Remove User to remove a specific user. Click OK to close the window after removing as many users as you want.


Removing a user disconnects the user immediately, without saving changes. Make sure the user saves the file first to avoid lost work.


  • Do not use this method to remove yourself from the user list.
  • Removing a user does not prevent the user from joining the file again in the future. To change permissions, stop sharing the file entirely first.

Step 3

Remove all users.

Uncheck Allow Changes... and click OK to stop sharing the file and remove all other users.

Step 4

Confirm sharing end.

Choose Yes to confirm.


  • Have all other users save the file before you end shared use to avoid lost work.
  • Turning off sharing deletes the change history and Track Changes data. Even if you turn on sharing again later, you can't recover this history.


To change permissions, so that you can re-share the file without letting everyone with access to the file edit it, click Allow Users to Edit Ranges after you turn off sharing. Press New to set up a range of protected cells and a password. To lock the range to particular users or user groups, click Permissions on the New Range dialog box. After setting up the range, turn on Protect Sheet before you turn on sharing.