How to Delete the Full Twitter History

As social networks, such as Twitter, become more mainstream, your history of Twitter updates may become of interest to friends, family, neighbors and even potential employers. If you're concerned that you have been a little too open or forthcoming in past tweets, you can delete your previous updates and direct messages. Twitter does not provide any means to delete your entire account history in one step, aside from deleting your account. Once you've wiped your Twitter history, you can change your account to "protected," start a new account or begin tweeting again.

Waiting for message
How to Delete the Full Twitter History
credit: milicad/iStock/Getty Images

Step

Erase your direct message history with DM Whacker. Switch to the "Old Twitter" interface by clicking your name in the top-right corner of any Twitter page and selecting "Switch to Old Twitter." DM Whacker only works in the "Old Twitter" interface. Visit the DM Whacker page and drag the "DM Whacker" bookmarklet link into your Web browser's bookmarks bar. Visit your Direct Messages page on Twitter and click the "DM Whacker" bookmark to delete your direct message history.

Step

Log into Twitter, click "Profile" and hover over each of your previous tweets to reveal the "Delete" link. Click "Delete" to remove your past Twitter posts individually. Click "Messages" and hover over each previous direct message to reveal the "Delete" link. Click "Delete" on these messages to remove them individually. This is a slow but viable option if you have a brief Twitter history.

Step

Delete all of your past tweets with TwitWipe. Visit the TwitWipe website (twitwipe.com). Click "Sign in with Twitter" and authenticate your account. Click the "TwitWipe This Account" button and confirm that you want to delete all of your past tweets.