How to Remove a Username From Internet Explorer

By C.D. Crowder

Microsoft's Internet Explorer automatically fills in information through the AutoComplete function. This saves usernames, search criteria and even passwords, if you allow it. When you're on a public computer, or if you just want to keep you personal information private, turn off the AutoComplete function and remove stored usernames from Internet Explorer. Internet Explorer 6, 7 and 8 all have the AutoComplete function. Luckily, removing stored usernames and other stored information is the same for each browser.

Turn Off AutoFill

Step 1

Open an Internet Explorer browser window.

Step 2

Go to "Tools" and select "Internet Options."

Step 3

Select the "Content" tab.

Step 4

Press "Settings" under "AutoComplete."

Step 5

Uncheck the boxes beside any information you do not want to be saved, such as usernames, passwords, forms and web addresses.

Step 6

Press "OK" on the AutoComplete Settings page and on the Internet Options page to save your settings.

Remove Usernames

Step 1

Open an Internet Explorer browser window if one is not already open.

Step 2

Go to the "Tools" menu and select "Internet Options."

Step 3

Select the "General" tab. Alternately, select the "Content" tab. The General tab allows you to delete all history, including browsing history, while the Content tab only allows you to delete AutoComplete history.

Step 4

Press "Delete" under the "Browsing History" section.If you use the "Content" tab, select "Settings" under "AutoComplete." In Internet Explorer 6, press "AutoComplete."

Step 5

Select the items you want to delete or press "Delete All."Press "Delete AutoComplete History" or clear just the items you want if using the Content tab removal method.

Tips & Warnings

  • If you want to keep your browsing history, remove AutoComplete usernames by using the Content tab.
  • Never store personal information such as usernames or passwords on a public computer, even family computers. Though you may take steps to keep your information safe, others may not. Always delete your browsing history and AutoComplete history at the end of your browsing session.