How to View the Presentation History in PowerPoint

How to View the Presentation History in PowerPoint. Microsoft PowerPoint stores a 100 item editing history to undo and redo actions in your presentation. PowerPoint also enables the user to store and track multiple versions of a file in collaboration with other users. Read on to learn how to view the presentation history in PowerPoint.

How to View Simple Presentation Editing History

Step

Click the small down arrow next to the "Undo" icon in the PowerPoint toolbar. A drop-down list displays recent text, graphic or editing actions.

Step

Scroll down the list to view earlier history. Drag the cursor down to the bottom of the drop-down list to scroll to the earliest item.

Step

Select the items you wish to undo and click the "Undo # Actions" text at the bottom of the drop-down list. The # displays the total number of actions to undo, up to 100.

Step

Press the small down arrow next to the "Redo" icon in the PowerPoint toolbar to redo any actions or view undone actions.

Step

Peruse the list to view "Undo" history. Drag the cursor down to the bottom of the drop-down list to view the earliest undone item.

Step

Highlight the items to redo and click the "Redo # Actions" text at the bottom of the drop-down list. The # displays the total number of actions to redo, up to 100.

How to View Collaborative Presentation Version History

Step

Open a multi-version document with multiple users stored on a SharePoint library or server.

Step

Click the Microsoft Office button on the toolbar. Select "Server" and then select "View Version History."

Step

In the new "Versions Saved..." dialog box, peruse the recent versions of the file, the user and save history, and whether the file is a "major" or "minor" version of the file.

Step

Select a previous version to view in the "Versions Saved..." and click "Open." This doesn't affect or override your current, open version.

Step

To restore a previous version, select the desired version in the "Versions Saved..." dialog, and click "Restore." The current, overridden version displays in the version history as a previous revision.