Netflix Introduces "Profile Transfer" Feature

Techwalla may earn compensation through affiliate links in this story.
Image Credit: cyano66/iStock/GettyImages

Netflix is really trying to get people to stop sharing accounts. The social media platform is taking another stab at cracking down on account sharing by launching a new "Profile Transfer" feature that lets users transfer everything from their existing account to a new account.

Advertisement

Profile Transfer makes it super easy to transfer all of your personal data to your new account without risking losing your customized recommendations, viewing history, list of favorite shows/movies, and other settings that would be really annoying, and dare we say, devastating, to lose. Otherwise, Netflix's algorithm won't know you prefer Schitt's Creek over anything related to Jeffrey Dahmer.

Advertisement

Video of the Day

The goal of the new feature is likely to make it more enticing for users to start paying for their own accounts. Although, the truth is, if a freeloader doesn't want to pay for Netflix, offering to transfer their data probably won't change their mind.

Advertisement

The Profile Transfer feature is currently rolling out to users worldwide. Users will receive an email from Netflix letting them know when the feature is available to them.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Report an Issue

Screenshot loading...