How to Delete a Webmail Account

By Elton Dunn

Whether you want to delete that old webmail account because it gets far too much spam, you regret the unprofessional user name you chose as a teenager or you have a new account and don't check the old one, deleting your webmail account is easy. In most cases, closing a webmail account is permanent, so make sure you've given out a new email address to all your contacts before you get rid of the old one.

Things You'll Need

  • Account user name
  • Account password

Yahoo!

Step 1

Open your computer's web browser and enter "https://edit.yahoo.com/config/delete_user" in the toolbar. This takes you to the Yahoo Account Termination.

Step 2

Sign into the Account Termination page with your Yahoo! id and password.

Step 3

Re-enter your password in the box and enter the Captcha tag. Click the "Yes" button at the bottom of the page to delete your Yahoo! webmail account.

Hotmail

Step 1

Open up your web browser. Then type the following URL into your web browser's tool bar: "http://account.live.com/CloseAccount.aspx."

Step 2

Enter your Hotmail password in the box and press "Sign in." Wait for the new page to load.

Step 3

Re-enter your password and click "Yes" to close the Hotmail account.

Gmail

Step 1

Sign into your Gmail account with your username and password at "http://gmail.com."

Step 2

Click the "Settings" button at the top right. Under the "Accounts and Imports" tab click "Google Account Settings."

Step 3

Push the "Edit" button next to "My Products," the large bold header. This open the page where you can delete Gmail.

Step 4

Follow the link under "Delete Account." Enter your password and click the two boxes next to "Yes." Push "Delete Google Account" to close your Gmail account.

Tips & Warnings

  • Deleting a Yahoo account also deletes additional profiles associated with that account, such as your Yahoo! Groups membership.
  • Hotmail accounts remain live for 270 days so users can re-activate them if they change their minds. After 270, the accounts are permanently deleted.