How to Disable the Facebook Friend Finder Suggestion

Facebook uses the information you have uploaded about your contacts to make friend suggestions for you and others. To stop the friend finder suggestion, turn off continuous uploading and delete all of your imported contacts.

Turn off Continuous Uploading on Mobile Devices

If you have continuous uploading turned on, Facebook will keep uploading your contacts from your device. Turn off this setting on any devices where you use the Facebook app.

Step

Tap More — the icon with three horizontally stacked lines — in the Facebook app on your mobile device.

Tap More on your Facebook app.
credit: Image courtesy of Facebook
Access settings on your mobile device.
credit: Image courtesy of Facebook

Step

Tap Settings on your iOS mobile device or App Settings on your Android device.

Access general settings on your iPhone or iPad.
If using an Android device, skip this step.
credit: Image courtesy of Facebook

Step

Tap General on your iOS mobile device.

Tap Upload Contacts on your iPhone or iPad.
credit: Image courtesy of Facebook

Step

Tap Upload Contacts on your iOS mobile device or Continuous Contacts Upload on your Android device.

Toggle the switch to turn the setting off.
credit: Image courtesy of Facebook

Step

Tap the toggle switch to turn this setting off.

Remove All Imported Contacts

After you have turned off continuous uploading, remove your imported contacts on the Facebook website. You can remove one or more contacts by selecting it and pressing Delete Selected. To save time, delete all of your imported contacts.

Step

Click Find Friends while on any Facebook page.

Click Find Friends.
credit: Image courtesy of Facebook
Access the Manage Imported Contacts page.
credit: Image courtesy of Facebook

Step

Click Manage Imported Contacts in the Add Personal Contacts box.

Click Remove All Contacts.
credit: Image courtesy of Facebook

Step

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Remove All Contacts.

Click Remove.
credit: Image courtesy of Faebook

Step

Click Remove.

Step

Facebook now processes your request and notifies you when it is complete. If you have a large contact list, this may take a few minutes.