What Does Revert Mean in QuickBooks?

By David Roberts

If you open an invoice, sales receipt or another document to make changes to it, sometimes an accidental keystroke will change more than you wanted to. Using the "Revert" button reverts or restores the original document.

Revert an Invoice

On an invoice form in QuickBooks there is a small button located next to the "Save & New" button. When you open a saved invoice to make changes--to add items, delete items or change prices--if you accidentally change something you didn't want changed, before you click on either of the "Save" buttons, click the "Revert" button and the invoice will return to the original saved version.

Revert a Sales Receipt

The process for a sales receipt is identical to that of the invoice. The "Revert" button is located in the same area. The only difference is that since a sales receipt is created at the time a customer is paying for items or services, there should be no need to return to a saved sales receipt to make changes.

Other Documents

If you open up the "Enter Bills" or "Estimates" windows, when you are working with a new form, the "Revert" button is labeled "Clear." It only reads "Revert" when you return to a form that has been saved. Whereas "Revert" returns a document to the original form, "Clear" deletes the entire form.