How to Delete History of Movies Watched on Netflix

Account Activity includes everything you watch across all devices.
Image Credit: Image courtesy of Netflix

Up until late 2014, Netflix didn't offer any way to delete individual shows from your viewing history. Profiles, introduced in 2013, helped keep family members' videos from appearing on your list, but if you wanted to hide your guilty pleasures, you were out of luck. Thankfully, you can now clear out one movie, TV episode or TV series at a time from the Account Activity page, or if you want to wipe the slate clean, delete your entire profile.

Delete Individual Items

Step 1

Each profile has its own history and ratings.
Image Credit: Image courtesy of Netflix

Sign in to Netflix with the same account and profile you used to watch the video you want removed.

Step 2

This is also a convenient place to access Help.
Image Credit: Image courtesy of Netflix

Mouse over your profile icon to open the menu and choose Your Account.

Step 3

Alternately, click Ratings to skip to deleting ratings.
Image Credit: Image courtesy of Netflix

Click Viewing Activity in the My Profile section of the account page.

Step 4

The Report a Problem link is for reporting site errors.
Image Credit: Image courtesy of Netflix

Click the X icon by the movie or TV episode you want to remove. If you want to erase an entire TV series, start by deleting any episode from the series.

Step 5

Don't want to remove the whole series? Just ignore the link.
Image Credit: Image courtesy of Netflix

Choose Remove Series to delete an entire TV series. Continue to click X on each item you want to remove.

Step 6

Click the stars to change a rating rather than delete it.
Image Credit: Image courtesy of Netflix

Open the Rating tab and click X by any show or movie to remove its rating. Ratings are stored separately from your viewing history -- you can rate shows without watching them on Netflix, or watch shows without rating them.

Delete All History

Step 1

Individual profiles were introduced in 2013.
Image Credit: Image courtesy of Netflix

Open the menu by your profile icon and choose Manage Profiles.

Step 2

You can have five profiles on one account.
Image Credit: Image courtesy of Netflix

Click Add Profile and make a new profile for yourself, if you haven't already. Return to the Manage Profiles page, press the Edit button by your old profile and then press Delete Profile.

Step 3

There's no Undo button -- one last click to erase everything.
Image Credit: Image courtesy of Netflix

Press Delete Profile to confirm.

Tip

The "Recently Watched" list on Netflix mobile apps might take up to 24 hours to update after deleting a video from your account.

Kids' profiles can't delete viewing history, so that a child can't keep activity a secret. To delete a show for your child, switch the profile to "Adult" temporarily to access the Account Activity page.

Warning

As of publication, Netlfix's iOS and Android apps do not have a way to view your complete history or erase items from it. Follow these steps on a computer.

references & resources