How to Delete Windows Workgroup

By Anthony Smith

A nice feature of the Windows operating system is the ability to network computers together. The default network for the Windows operating system is called "Workgroup." Often a user will set up a new network of computers, name it something else and then have difficulty deleting the original default Workgroup.

Step 1

Go to the Windows desktop and click on the "Start" button.

Step 2

Select "Control Panel," then "System."

Step 3

Select the tab labeled "Computer Name," and then take note of the name that is next to the word Workgroup.

Step 4

Close this window, go back to the Windows desktop and click "Start" again. Select "My Network Places."

Step 5

The icons showing the workgroups will appear, one of them being the new one you created. Go back to the Control Panel and click on "System" and "Computer Name" again.

Step 6

Click on "Change" and then change the Workgroup name to the name of the new workgroup you created.

Step 7

Reboot your computer, and you are finished. You have removed Workgroup.

Tips & Warnings

  • The Add Network Place Wizard will help you create new shortcuts to shared folders and resources on your network, Web and FTP servers.