How to Delete an Email Address From the Facebook Login Screen

Facebook supports automatic sign in.
Image Credit: Tim Robberts/Photodisc/GettyImages

Facebook has a convenient feature built in. If you regularly log into the site using your own computer or mobile device, the site saves your login information to make it easy to get back in throughout the day. But if you're logging in from a friend's device, a computer at work or a publicly-shared computer at a location like a library, you'll want to clear that information out before someone else tries to access the site.

Delete Facebook Login Information

If you've searched the words "Facebook login saved email address delete," chances are you're using a computer or mobile device that isn't your own. Like many other sites, Facebook now saves your email address and password to make it easier for you to use your account. But this becomes a problem when you're on someone else's device or a public computer.

Once you've logged out of Facebook, take a look at the screen. If your email address and password are still filled in, that information will be available to the next person who pulls up Facebook. You can try clearing out those fields, but when you refresh the page, the information will be back. That means you'll need to take more intensive action.

Clear Facebook Password on Desktop

If you want to remove your information from the Facebook login, you'll need to wipe it out in your browser's history. This will clear out any activities, including the sites you've visited, but it will also blank out those password fields. Here's a step-by-step guide for the two most popular browsers, Google Chrome and Safari.

Chrome:

  • Click the three vertical dots in the top-right corner of your browser.
  • Choose Settings.
  • Scroll down to "Autofill" and click on "Passwords."
  • Scroll down to the section marked "Saved Passwords." Find Facebook.com on the alphabetical list. Click the three vertical dots to the right and select "Remove."
  • Return to Facebook and refresh. The field should be clear.

In Safari:

  • Click on Safari in the upper-right corner. Choose "Preferences."
  • Click on "Passwords." Find Facebook.com on the alphabetical list. Select it and choose "Remove."
  • Return to Facebook and refresh. The field should be clear.

Clear Facebook Password on Smartphone

You may have checked your Facebook account using a friend's smartphone, in which case they'll want your name off their page as much as you will. Logging out and having them log back in again is one solution. But if you want to delete the Facebook login saved email address altogether, you'll need to go into the phone's security settings.

On an iPhone:

  • From your main screen, tap on the settings icon.
  • Select "Passwords" and "Accounts." Tap on "Website and App Passwords." You'll probably need your friend to log you into this section using face or thumbprint authentication.
  • Scroll down to Facebook.com and tap on the entry that has your username and password attached.
  • Swipe left. Click "Delete."
  • Return to the Facebook app and refresh to verify your information is gone.

On an Android device:

  • Open the Google Chrome app.
  • Click the three vertical dots in the top-right corner of your browser.
  • Choose "Settings" and "Passwords."
  • Tap "View" and manage saved passwords.
  • Tap the password you want to remove and choose "Delete."
  • Return to Facebook and refresh. The field should be clear.

Clear Browser History

You should also stop to consider if Facebook is the only site on that device that might have your password. Chances are, you input your password on at least one other site while you were on there. Clearing your entire history will wipe everything out, including your Facebook password.

To clear your browser history in Chrome, click on the three vertical dots in the upper-right corner and choose "History" and "History." Select the three horizontal lines in the top-left corner and click "Clear browsing data." If you've only been on Facebook on that computer for the past hour, use the drop-down arrow at the top to clear all data from the past hour.

references