How to Restore and Back Up Your Apple iPad

By Tyson Cliffton

If your iPad occasionally freezes, has trouble syncing or just generally acts a little crazy, one of your options to return your iPad to its last working state is to restore the iPad from a backup file. Your iPad creates a backup of your device each time you sync it, so you shouldn't be concerned about losing too much information by rolling back your device. Through the restore and reset functions, Apple also gives you the option to password protect your backups as an extra precaution, or erase your iPad if you plan on selling it.

Things You'll Need

  • Apple iPad

Restore Your iPad Using a Backup

Step 1

Plug your iPad into your computer and open iTunes.

Step 2

Locate your iPad on the left side of the screen in the "Devices" menu. Right-click on the name of your iPad.

Step 3

Click "Restore from Backup." In the dialog box that appears, click "Restore."

Password-Protect Your Backup

Step 1

Plug your iPad into your computer and open iTunes.

Step 2

Locate your iPad on the left side of the screen in the "Devices" menu.

Step 3

Select the "Summary" tab in the iPad dialog box. Place a check mark next to the "Encrypt iPad Backup" dialog box.

Step 4

Enter your password in each of the password boxes and click "Set Password."

Removing an iPad Backup

Step 1

Plug your iPad into your computer and open iTunes.

Step 2

Select "Edit" and then "Preferences" from the toolbar at the top of the screen.

Step 3

Select the "Devices" tab.

Step 4

Select the backups of your iPad you want to delete and click "OK." Your backups that are no longer needed will be deleted.

Save Data and Reset iPad

Step 1

Select the "Settings" icon on your iPad.

Step 2

Scroll through the list and select "General."

Step 3

Scroll through the list and select "Reset."

Step 4

Select "Reset All Settings."

Step 5

Click "Reset" to confirm and initiate the reset of your iPad.

Reset and Erase iPad

Step 1

Select the "Settings" icon on your iPad.

Step 2

Scroll through the list and select "General."

Step 3

Scroll through the list and click "Reset."

Step 4

Select "Erase All Content and Settings."

Step 5

Select "Erase" to confirm and initiate the erasing of your iPad's memory.

Tips & Warnings

  • Consider erasing your iPad and restoring it back to its factory settings if you plan on selling your iPad or passing it on to a friend or family member. Never consider giving someone your iPad without ensuring that you've erased all the information on it first.
  • Put a password on your iPad backup files if you feel like there is a chance someone may try to steal your backups to load them on another iPad and attempt to extract private information from the files.
  • Only delete backups that you are absolutely positive you will no longer have a need for. Once you delete an iPad backup, there is no getting it back, and whatever information you eventually discover you may need from that backup will be lost for good.