How to Tag Your Friends On Facebook

By Techwalla Internet Editor

Facebook lets you connect with your friends and coworkers through select networks. Once you've created your profile, start tagging your photos and notes with the names of your friends. You can also tag your friends' photos. Help connect your friends and grow your network.

Things You'll Need

  • Facebook account
  • Computer with Internet access

Tag Your Friends on Photos

Step 1

Log in to the Facebook home page (see Resources below). If you haven't registered yet, select "Register" to get started.

Step 2

Go to the "My Photos" page. You will notice that photos that have recently been tagged with your friends' name appear on this page.

Step 3

View a photo album by clicking on the album cover or the "View" link.

Step 4

Choose an image to tag by clicking on the photo's thumbnail. It will enlarge after you click on it.

Step 5

Select the "Tag This Photo" link. When you mouse over the photo, the cursor should become a crosshair.

Step 6

Click on the person you want to tag. You can type any name or tag for that area of the photo or choose one of your friends' names to add.

Step 7

Visit your friends' profiles and tag the photos the same way.

Tag Your Friends in Your Notes

Step 1

Head to "My Notes" after you log in to Facebook. You should see any notes you have previously left, whether typed on Facebook or imported from your blog. You can tag both types of notes.

Step 2

Choose a note you have already written to add a tag to by clicking on the note's title. You will be taken to a page that only has that note and the ability to add comments.

Step 3

Type a friend's name into the "Tag People in This Note" section. You can only use confirmed Facebook friends as a tag.

Step 4

Use the same tag form when leaving a new note on your profile. You can always go back and add new tags as your friends join Facebook.

Tips & Warnings

  • Tags can be removed at any time by going to the photo or note and clicking "Remove Tag" next to the one you want to delete.
  • Visit the Support section if you need help uploading photos (see Resources below).
  • If you tag a photo or note with someone's name, that person will be able to see the item even if the privacy level is set to "Only Me." Do not tag a photo with the name of a person you do not want visiting your profile.