How to Block Everyone on Facebook

By Carolyn Luck

Status updates, wall posts and photos are just some of the user-generated content you'll find on Facebook. While connecting with friends can be fun and easy, it may not be for everyone. Facebook users can adjust their privacy settings to protect the content they choose to upload and share. Whether you choose to block a few untrustworthy users or virtually everyone, you can do so in a few steps.

Connecting on Facebook

Step 1

Log into your Facebook account.

Step 2

Select the "Privacy Settings" option of the "Account" tab in the top right section of any page.

Step 3

Click the "View Settings" option located under the section labeled "Connecting on Facebook."

Step 4

Scroll to the "See Your Friend List" option and select "Customize" from the drop-down menu. Select "Only Me" from the "These People" drop-down menu that appears in the box. Click "Save Setting."

Step 5

Repeat step 4 for "See Your Education and Work," "See Your Current City and Hometown" and "See Your Likes, Activities and Other Connections."

Sharing on Facebook

Step 1

Log into your Facebook account.

Step 2

Select the "Privacy Settings" option of the "Account" tab in the top right section of any page.

Step 3

Click the "Customize Settings" option located under the section labeled "Sharing on Facebook."

Step 4

Locate the "Things I Share" section and scroll to the "Posts By Me" option and select "Customize" from the drop-down menu. Select "Only Me" from the "These People" drop-down menu that appears in the box. Click "Save Setting."

Step 5

Repeat step 4 for all remaining options located under the "Things I Share" section as well as all options in the "Things Others Share" section and the "Contact Information" section.

Create Block Lists

Step 1

Log into your Facebook account.

Step 2

Select the "Privacy Settings" option of the "Account" tab in the top right section of any page.

Step 3

Scroll down to the "Block Lists" section and click "Edit our Lists."

Step 4

Type individual names or email addresses of users you wish to block and click "Block This User."

Step 5

Click the "Block" option next to his name to prevent him from future interaction.

Tips & Warnings

  • You can unblock a user by selecting the "Unblock" option that appears beside their name under your block list.