How to Close Your Facebook Ads Account

Due to its massive user base, Facebook is an effective platform for Internet advertising. When you sign up for a Facebook account, you automatically have access to the advertising tools on Facebook. You can then use a single profile to manage several ads and even add users to your account that have access to view or manage the advertising campaign. If you decide to stop advertising on Facebook, close the associated Facebook account. You can do so by either temporarily disabling your account or permanently deleting it.

Deactive Account

Step

Open your browser and visit Facebook.com.

Step

Enter the email account and password associated with your advertising account into the fields in the upper right corner of the window and click "Log In."

Step

Click on the "Account" drop-down box in the upper right corner of the page and choose "Account Settings."

Step

Select the "Settings" tab then scroll down and click on "deactivate" next to the "Deactivate Account" section.

Step

Choose a reason for leaving next to "Reason for leaving (Required)."

Step

Check the box for "Opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook" if you want to prevent Facebook from sending you email messages once you deactivate your ads account.

Step

Click the "Confirm" button. A pop-up window will appear. Enter your password into the "Password" field and click "Deactivate Now."

Step

Input the security check word into the "Text in the box" field. Click on the "Try another text" link to change the word, if you have trouble reading it. Click "Submit."

Permanently Close Account

Step

Open your browser and visit Facebook.com.

Step

Enter the email account and password associated with your advertising account into the fields in the upper right corner of the window and log into your account.

Step

Visit the Facebook request deletion page (see Resources).

Step

Click the "Submit" button. A new window will appear.

Step

Type in your Facebook account password into the "Password" foiled then enter the security word into the "Text in the box" field. Click the "Try another text" link if you cannot read the security word.

Step

Click "OK." A message will appear confirming the deletion. Click "OK."