How to Discreetly Unfriend Someone on Facebook

Facebook friendships are reciprocal, meaning that you are automatically added to someone's Friend List when you add him as your friend. This also means that if you remove someone from your Friend List, your name will be removed from his Friend List as well. That said, individuals are not notified when people unfriend them, so unless the person you want to unfriend looks up your profile, he won't be aware that you two are no longer friends. For added security, you can make your Friend List private so that others won't see who you are no longer friends with.

Unfriend Someone

Step

Log in to your Facebook account.

Step

Click on your Profile page, then click "Friends" in the navigation menu on the left side of the page.

Step

Click on the gray "Edit Friends" button in the top-right corner of the page.

Step

Click on the small "x" on the right side of the person's name that you want to unfriend.

Step

Click on the blue "Remove from Friends" button in the pop-up box.

Hide Friend List

Step

Log in to your Facebook account.

Step

Click on "Account" in the top-right corner of the page.

Step

Click on "Privacy settings" in the drop-down menu.

Step

Click on the blue "View settings" link near the top of the page.

Step

Click on the downward-facing arrow beside "See your friend list."

Step

Click on "Customize" in the drop-down menu.

Step

Click on the downward-facing arrow beside "These people."

Step

Click on "Only me" in the drop-down menu.

Step

Click on the blue "Save setting" button in the lower-right corner of the window.