How to Remove A Hijacked Homepage

By Jason Taetsch

A hijacked homepage is a symptom of a malware infection known as a browser hijacker. Browser hijackers redirect your web searches and browser settings to pages that advertise other malware and nefarious programs. Hijackers are spread through unprotected freeware installation, peer to peer file-sharing and trojan downloaders. You need to remove hijackers immediately, as they may be running other malware in the background of your computer without your knowledge.

Step 1

Visit a virus database such as Spyware Remove or Dedicated 2-Viruses on a clean computer. Using the symptoms of your computer determine, the type of hijacker infecting your browser and record the system files, processes and registry values associated with the infection.

Step 2

Press "Ctrl-Alt-Delete" to launch the Task Manager. Click the "Processes" tab and select the hijacker's processes in the list. Click "End Process" to terminate the hijacker activity on your computer.

Step 3

Click "Start," type "Regedit" into the "Search" field and press "Enter." The Registry Editor will open. Click on the "Edit" button on the menu and choose "Find" from the drop-down menu. Type the name of a registry entry associated with the hijacker into the search field and click "Find." Right-click on the located entry and choose "Delete." Be sure to complete this process for each of the entries associated with the hijacker.

Step 4

Close the Editor and right-click "Start." Choose "Explore" to launch the Windows Explorer utility that provides access to the files saved to your hard drive. Type the name of a system file for the hijacker into the search field situated in the Explorer interface. Click on the hijacker file and press "Delete" to send the file to the Recycle Bin for later removal. Make sure to complete this step for each of the files associated with the hijacker infection.

Step 5

Right-click "Recycle Bin" and select "Empty" to remove the hijacker files from your computer.

Step 6

Restart your computer to complete the removal process and save any changes to your system's settings and configuration.