How to Remove the Most Visited Page From Google Chrome

By Gareth Downes-Powell

Google's Chrome web browser was first launched in December 2008. It has rapidly become one of the top browsers in terms of market share. When a new tab is opened in Google Chrome, to help you reach frequently visited sites faster, the "Most Visited" section is shown that displays thumbnails of the eight websites you have visited the most. While this can be a useful time saver, it has the negative effect of putting your browsing history on public display, which may be undesirable in some circumstances. Clearing Chrome's browsing history will also clear the most-visited sites panel.

Step 1

Click the Windows "Start" button. Click "Google Chrome" to launch.

Step 2

Click the "+" button on the tab bar to open a new tab, which will show your most-visited sites. To remove a single entry, hover the mouse pointer over a thumbnail and then click the cross in the top-right corner to remove the site from the list.

Step 3

Click on the "wrench" icon in the top-right corner of Google Chrome, and click "Options" from the drop-down menu that appears.

Step 4

Click "Under the Bonnet" from the menu on the left of the "Options" screen, and then click the "Clear Browsing Data..." button from the panel on the right of the screen.

Step 5

Select how far back to clear the browsing data from the drop-down menu. Click from "the beginning of time" to clear all data. Click on the "Clear Browsing History" check box to mark the browsing history to be cleared, which will also clear the "Most Visited" sites panel. Click on the check boxes for any other data you want to be cleared, for example, cookies or download history.

Step 6

Click the "Clear Browsing Data" button to remove stored data. This may take some time, depending on how much data is stored. Click on the "+" button on the tab bar to open a new tab when the process has completed, and you will see the "Most Visited" section has been cleared.

Tips & Warnings

  • To stop all browsing data being stored for a single browsing session, click on the "wrench" icon in the top-right of the browser window, and then click "New Incognito Window." Data accumulated during the session will be removed when Google Chrome is closed.