Facebook Will Livestream College Football Games This Fall

Football
credit: JacqieDickens/iStock/GettyImages

Facebook really wants you to watch more videos on its site, specifically ones you can't watch anywhere else.

Video of the Day

Earlier this month, Facebook announced its redesigned video section called Watch, which is dedicated to original programming. That section is already being expanded through a deal with Stadium, the 24/7 digital sports broadcaster, to livestream 15 college football games exclusively on the platform.

In the past, Facebook has streamed some NBA and regular season MLB games, but those were available other places as well. In this case, college stadiums own the rights to the games, and they'll be produced exclusively for Facebook, which means they won't be viewable anywhere else.

Nine Conference USA games and six Mountain West games will be available to livestream throughout the college football season.

Here's the schedule:

  • Saturday, Sept. 2: Miami (OH) at Marshall, 6:30 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Sept. 2: UC Davis at San Diego State, 8:30 p.m. ET
  • Thursday, Sept. 7: Idaho State at Utah State, 8:00 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Sept. 9: New Mexico State at New Mexico, 8:00 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Sept. 23: FIU at Rice, 7:30 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Sept. 23: Utah State at San Jose State, 7:30 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Sept. 30: Texas State at Wyoming, 4:00 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Oct. 7: Southern Miss at UTSA, 7:00 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Oct. 14: Wyoming at Utah State, 4:30 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Oct. 21: Rice at UTSA, 7:00 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Oct. 28: FIU at Marshall, 2:30 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Nov. 4: North Texas at Louisiana Tech, 3:30 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Nov. 11: Southern Miss at Rice, 3:30 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Nov. 18: Marshall at UTSA, 7:00 p.m. ET
  • Saturday, Nov. 25: FAU at Charlotte, 2:00 p.m. ET

Facebook users worldwide can watch the games on the Stadium: Live College Football Show Page, while users in the U.S. can view them on Watch.

Show Comments