How to Block Someone on Facebook

By Zicheng Ren

This article describes how to block Facebook users from your account settings and how to unfollow users in your News Feed.


Facebook has the potential to display your personal information to people you don't know well. In addition, trolling or cyberbullying can become an issue on Facebook. In these cases, the best option may be to unfollow someone, which stops the user's posts from appearing in your News Feed, or to block the user completely from your account.

Unfollow to Block Posts on Your News Feed

Step 1: Log in to your Facebook account and go to the News Feed on your Home page.

Step 2: Locate a post by the user you want to unfollow and click the down arrow in that user's post.

Click the down arrow.

Step 3: Choose Unfollow [Username] from the drop-down list to stop seeing posts in your News Feed from the user.


Block Someone in Settings

Step 1: Click the down-arrow in the menu bar and choose Settings from the drop-down list.

Click down arrow and choose

Step 2: Choose Blocking from the left sidebar and type the name or email address of a user in the Block users box. Click Block, and Facebook searches for accounts that match your search term.

Type the username or email address in the


You will not see any post, tag, invitation, message or friend request from a blocked user, and the blocked user will not be able to see anything you post on your Timeline, send you messages or invite you to groups or events.

Step 3: Find the user that you want to block in the Block People pop-up window that appears and click Block, without clicking on the user's name or picture.

Choose the right user and click


Because many Facebook users have similar or the same names, if you attempt to block someone using a name instead of an email address, you may see a list of possible matches in the pop-up window. Scroll until you find the correct match and click Block.

Step 4: Confirm that you want to block the user by clicking Block [Username].


Step 5: Note that the blocked user's name appears on the Manage Blocking page. Click Unblock to remove the block from the user.

Confirm the blocking.


If you remove someone from your Block List and then want to block the person again, you have to wait at least 48 hours to do so.


Unfriending a person on Facebook protects your personal information if you use the privacy settings to limit your audience. Unfriend from the Friends tab on your Timeline.