How to Delete a LinkedIn Account

By Andrea Ruiz

Your LinkedIn profile includes your network of other LinkedIn users, your group membership information, your profile and resume details, private messages and invitations, and the recommendations and endorsements you've received from other users. Closing a single LinkedIn account permanently deletes all this information; you won't be able to re-open it or retrieve any account information after you complete the closing process. If you want to keep your current account and delete a duplicate account, ask LinkedIn's support staff to merge the information from the duplicate account with your current account.

Step 1

Log in to your LinkedIn account and go to your account settings (see Resources). LinkedIn may prompt you to log in a second time.

Step 2

Click the "Account" tab in your settings dashboard.

Step 3

Click "Close Your Account" under the Helpful Links section.

Step 4

Select your reason for closing your account and click the "Next" button.

Step 5

Review the email addresses and account information to confirm you are closing the correct account. Then, click the "Verify Account" button.

Step 6

Click the "Close Account" button on the subsequent screen to permanently close your LinkedIn account.

Tips & Warnings

  • If you're closing your account because you receive too many emails, LinkedIn may suggest that you change your email notification settings to minimize the number of emails you receive from the service instead of closing your account. You retain your account settings and profile information without receiving many emails.
  • If you're closing a duplicate or old account, an alternative to closing it is to request that LinkedIn merge it with your main account. Contact LinkedIn with the primary email addresses associated with both accounts and indicate in your correspondence which account you want to keep. LinkedIn can transfer your old account's contacts, recommendations, group memberships and other profile information to your preferred account.
  • If the account you're closing owns any LinkedIn groups, either delete the group or transfer ownership to another user before closing your account.
  • Deleting your account doesn't necessarily remove all your information and activity history from LinkedIn's servers. Per its privacy policy, LinkedIn retains the right to preserve your information in special circumstances, such as to comply with legal investigations.