Every day, relationships are formed and broken on the popular social networking site Facebook. If a person suddenly disappears from your friend list, you might be wondering if she has blocked you. Because blocking a friend prevents her from being able to find you in the Facebook search interface, it can be difficult to tell if you are blocked or if the other person has simply deleted her account. Although there is no way to know definitively when a Facebook friend has blocked you, there are several methods that can be used to make an educated guess. By completing some detective work on Facebook, you can gauge whether you have been blocked.
Video of the Day
Open a Web browser and visit Google.com. Search for "(Your friend's name) Facebook." If the person's Facebook page is indexed by Google, you may be able to find it among the search results. Click on the result while you are not logged into Facebook. If the page comes up, his account on Facebook is still active, and you have been blocked.
Log in to Facebook, and send a note to a mutual friend asking them if they are still able to view your friend's page. If they can, your friend has blocked you.
Log in to Facebook and check any games that you both play. When a person blocks you on Facebook, other applications often fail to reflect the change. If the game has a public leader board showing the top players, you may be able to find your friend on it. Depending on the game, it may even be possible to initiate a game and invite your friend to be your opponent if she still has an account.
Create a new account on Facebook if you are unable to confirm that you have been blocked by asking a mutual friend or using an application. Because Facebook users are able to restrict their privacy settings to allow only people from the same geographical area to search for them, your new account should be based in the same city as your friend is. If you are able to find your friend by searching for them while logged into your new account, but not your old one, you have been blocked.