How to Hide the Update of Who I Became Friends With on My Facebook Wall

By Elise Wile

If you want to keep your Aunt Bea happy, it might not be a good idea to broadcast that you've recently become friends with her ex-husband. This and other potentially sticky situations make the privacy settings that Facebook offers a useful tool. You can control who sees your recent activity updates, including who you've recently friended. Keep in mind that Facebook does not enable you to hide only the recent activity updates about who you've friended -- you'll have to hide all of your updates to keep this information private.

Step 1

Log in to your Facebook account.

Step 2

Look at the upper right-hand corner of the screen. Click on "Account" and select "Privacy Settings."

Step 3

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on "Customize Settings."

Step 4

Click the button next to "Posts By Me," and select "Customize." You will see a drop-down box that includes the options "Friends of Friends," "Friends Only," "Specific People" and "Only Me." Since it is no fun to post updates that no one but yourself sees, select "Specific People."

Step 5

Type the names of the people who you don't want to view your recent activity updates -- about whom you've friended or any other subject -- in the box provided for this purpose. Facebook will hide your recent activity and status updates from these individuals, while your other friends can still see your latest news.

Step 6

Click on "Save Setting." Now the only people who will be able to see who you've friended are the people you trust with that information.

Tips & Warnings

  • Only friend people you trust on Facebook. Otherwise, you will find yourself frequently changing privacy settings in order to protect your information, which can take the enjoyment out of social networking.
  • For greater privacy regarding friends, you can hide your friend list on your Facebook profile. Once again, view your profile and select "Account." Under "Connecting on Facebook," select "View Settings." You can then control who can view your friend list on your profile page.
  • Do not change your settings, friend someone and then change the settings back to the default unless you don't mind if the people you formerly blocked the information from see your past activity updates. Facebook will not create a "gap" in updates for the time period that you changed your profile. If you block your recent activity updates from your significant other at 2:00, friend your ex at 2:30 and change your settings back at 3:00, your significant other will be able to see the 2:30 recent activity update for friending your ex.

References & Resources