How to Know if You Already Invited Someone to Connect on LinkedIn

By Jacqui Lane

On the professional social networking site LinkedIn, the act of adding someone to your network is called "connecting." When you add a connection, she receives a message that you want to connect with her on the site; you are connected after she accepts your request. If you're not certain whether you've already invited someone to connect to your network, LinkedIn allows you to see a list of all your connection requests.

Step 1

Click "Inbox" in the navigation bar at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.

Step 2

Click "Sent," located in the left column of your inbox.

Step 3

Click the "Sent Invitations" tab at the top of your Sent folder. All the invitations you've sent are listed; accepted invitations are marked with a green "Accepted" label, and pending invitations appear without the label.