How to Remove Imported Pictures From an iPhone

By Spanner Spencer

The iPhone stores all its photos and videos in an area of its internal memory called the "Camera Roll." You can access the Camera Roll through the Photos application, or through the iPhone's Camera application. If you create a screen capture, save an image from a Web page, or import pictures from email or a third-party game or application, it's also placed in the Camera Roll. The Camera Roll is accessible directly from a computer as a mass storage device, so you don't need to use iTunes to copy or remove pictures.

Things You'll Need

  • iPhone USB cable

Removing Pictures Through the Photos Application

Step 1

Launch the Photos application by tapping its icon on the iPhone's home screen.

Step 2

Select the Camera Roll to display a list of pictures currently stored on the iPhone. If you have created your own albums and want to remove pictures from them, tap the album's name to open it instead of the Camera Roll.

Step 3

Tap a photo to bring it up to full screen. A control panel will be displayed along the bottom edge of the picture.

Step 4

Press the trash can button in the lower right corner to delete the image, followed by the red "Delete Photo" button to confirm.

Step 5

Press the share button in the upper right corner of the screen -- shaped like a square box with an arrow pointing to the right -- if you want to remove several photos at once. Tap each photo to select them, and then press the "Delete" button to remove them all in one go.

Removing Pictures Via USB

Step 1

Connect the iPhone to your computer using its USB cable. The computer will automatically recognize the iPhone as a mass storage device.

Step 2

Open the iPhone using its desktop icon, or by clicking its icon in "My Computer." The contents of the iPhone's Camera Roll will be displayed.

Step 3

Delete files as required from the Camera Roll folder by selecting them and pressing the "Delete" key, or right-clicking the picture and selecting "Delete" from the context menu. The images will be removed from the iPhone as you delete them on the computer.

Tips & Warnings

  • Deleted photos cannot be retrieved.