How to Connect Pinterest to Your Twitter and Facebook Timeline

By Naomi Bolton

Pinterest is a popular online platform for sharing photos and images, but not everyone makes use of the service. Instead of uploading your photos to multiple social media platforms, such as Twitter and Facebook, you are able to connect these accounts to Pinterest for easy sharing. After your Twitter and Facebook accounts are connected to Pinterest, you only need to click the appropriate check box to automatically display your uploaded images on these services as well. Connecting Pinterest with your Facebook account also allows you to automatically post your images to your Facebook Timeline.

Step 1

Sign in to your Pinterest account (link in Resources) and click on the name of your account displayed at the top of the page.

Step 2

Click "Settings" from the list of options displayed, then scroll down to the Social Networks section of the page.

Step 3

Click the button next to the "Log in with Facebook" option and sign in to your Facebook account. Click "Okay" to authorize Pinterest connecting to your Facebook account.

Step 4

Click "Okay" to allow Pinterest to post to your Facebook Timeline. Once you've done so, Pinterest displays "Connected" and the URL of your Facebook account in the Social Networks section of the settings page.

Step 5

Click the button next to "Link to Timeline" to automatically post your Pinterest uploads to your Facebook Timeline without having to click the "Share" button each time.

Step 6

Click the button next to "Log in with Twitter" and sign in to your Twitter account. Click the "Authorize app" button to allow Pinterest to connect to your Twitter account.

Step 7

Click the "Post to Facebook" or "Post to Twitter" check boxes when you add images to Pinterest to automatically share them with your connected Twitter and Facebook accounts.

Tips & Warnings

  • If you selected the "Link to Timeline" option for Facebook the "Post to Facebook" check box will not be displayed when you add new images to Pinterest, as these are automatically shared to your Facebook Timeline.
  • Click or tap the button next "Log in with Facebook" or "Log in with Twitter" after the accounts are connected to disconnect the accounts again. The status changes to "Not Connected" to indicate the new status.